A Bee-line for Hexagons

5 09 2012

Uncapping honeycomb with a hot knife

Labor Day Monday found hubby and me in the sealed garage extracting honey from the comb. (The garage was sealed despite the 90 degree heat to keep fly-by bees from smelling the honey and “investigating.”) Beekeeping is my husband’s hobby, and I am joining him in the sweet undertaking.

It is amazing that bees build honey cells in perfect hexagons. Seeing all the tiny, interlocking hexagons in the honeycomb reminds me of the current popular interest of English Paper Piecing (EPP) hexagonal quilts.

Coincidentally, the Hexa-Go-Go blog tour was scheduled at this season; late summer is the prime time to harvest honey! Tacha Bruecher lists the calendar for her book’s blog tour on the Fat Quarterly site.

Have you recently completed or are you currently working on an EPP hexagon project? If so, describe your project in a comment below. You can see my hexagon project in the header photo on this blog. My quilt is lap size and “just” needs to be appliqued to a border. Guess I’ll make a bee-line to the quilt shop for the perfect border fabric!

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 09 2012
Deb Miner

Your hexie quilt is pretty Aby! I’ve not started a hexagon quilt, but am working on an EPP project from Sue Daley Designs called Desert Rose. It’ll be a wedding gift for our niece. The flowers are made from pentagons, and appliqued onto the solid border fabric. Our LQS (local quilt shop), More Sew For You, is very enthusiastic about EPP and has lots of great samples. (You can see photos of EPP projects on their website: http://www.moresewforyou.com/index.htm.)

6 09 2012
Gina Royer

Wow what fun to have fresh honey! My hexagon quilt is a work in progress and have yet to really decide how I want to lay it out. It is very relaxing in the evening to hand sew the hexagons together into little flowers. Once I finish them I put them on a white sheet that hangs on a wall. I want to see a flow of color in the form a wave…..

6 09 2012
Tina

I have not started a hexagon quilt, but with Barbara here I am actually thinking about it. I like the picture of your husband, and I bet the honey is great tasting.

7 09 2012
judyehmer

Glad Ran can get to do his own honey now! Someday I must finish my hexagon quilt. I think I started it in 1997, but it micht have been 1996.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

