“Movers and Shakers” Quilt, Finished

31 05 2014

Thanks to everyone who commented on the “Movers and Shakers” Churndash quilt in progress. The question posed: Do you prefer a traditional coloration of the blocks or a more modern, mix-it-up approach?

DSCN6301      DSCN6303

It was great to read all the comments and advice, and it was interesting to hear reasons for your choice. Good reasons, all! I decided to mix the colors in the four Churndash blocks because the blocks, at 15″ square, were so large some variety was needed. Had I made 6″ blocks, I would have kept all the triangles the same color for each block, a traditional coloration.

DSCN6317

I am pleased with the bright, bold look of the quilt. The back is royal blue tone-on-tone. I meandered with blue thread in the blue areas of the patchwork and border. With white thread, I quilted a rounded zigzag in the black and white sashing and filled the other areas with spirals.

My friend, Linda, purchased the quilt, so it is off to do some movin’ and shakin’ in a new baby’s nursery.

DSCN6316

Actions

Information

5 responses

31 05 2014
margiestitcher

yes it has certainly worked mixing the colours very nce

31 05 2014
scrapmuffinquilts

The quilt turned out very cute. What I’m wondering though is, do you ever sleep?

31 05 2014
Kim

Love all the mixed colors ! But I love everything you make !

31 05 2014
Sharon

I can see some child loving on that quilt, sleeping , holding it close. Love the colors , as I gravitate towards bold brights.

31 05 2014
Heather Raymond

Now that I see the finished product, I totally love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

