For Charity

3 06 2014

I set aside Wednesday morning of this past week to quilt 3 small quilt tops made by ladies in my quilt guild, the Tarheel Quilters Guild. Each year our guild gives quilts to the Veterans Administration Hospital and to the Neo-natal Intensive Care Unit of the city’s hospital. I’d like to show you pictures of the quilts since perhaps you are like me, always searching for simple yet interesting designs for charity quilts.

Dot made a Pinwheel quilt entirely of scraps. Isn’t it a fantastic string quilt? With variegated thread, I quilted a freehand, all-over spiral design to give an illusion of spinning pinwheels.

DSCN6313

Cindy made the simple yet colorful quilt pictured below. The quilt design was published several years ago by McCall’s Quick Quilts (May 2002 “Bear Hug” pg. 24). What a great use for a large scale theme print and a pack of tonal fat quarters! I can imagine a bandana for the center surrounded by cowboy themed fabric.

DSCN6312

The quilting design is a freehand “ruffled question mark.” Again, I used variegated thread.

Question Mark quilting

Cindy also made a Nine Patch on point with colorful tone-on-tones. The inner border fabric of squares perfectly complements the quilt design. For the quilting design, I debated between meandering loops and freehand squares and rectangles. I decided the loops would soften the straight edges of all the squares and diamonds.

DSCN6310

Of the three quilt designs pictured above, which are you most likely to try? Why? Personally, I’d like to try the giant Square in a Square; I have a large square of car/truck/bus fabric that I could surround with bright tonals.

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 06 2014
margiestitcher

very worthwhile charities and lovely quilts. I do a block a month for bee blessed which is based in Ireland and our Leeds MQG are going to do some for a siblings group which is for children haht have been split up from their brothers and sisters.

3 06 2014
Marie Krause

All three quilts are beautiful! I want to do the nine patch because I like the variety of ways they can be used. The string quilts are nice to use up the scraps.

3 06 2014
Heather

The pinwheel interests me ; I like the scrappy, warm look.

3 06 2014
quiltiferous

I like the pinwheels because I really like the scrappiness! It feels good to be able to use our talents for someone’s good, doesn’t it?

3 06 2014
scrapmuffinquilts

I like all three of the quilts as they are all so cheerful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

