Following My Nose

8 10 2012

My husband and I recently drove to Summerville, S.C. for a church denominational regional conference. “Summerville” rang a bell in my brain: “I think there’s a nice quilt shop in Summerville.” About nine years ago Columbia S.C. quilting friends and I attended a quilt show in Charleston S.C. and made a quilt shop stop in Summerville on the way. Could I find it again? Of course, I could have searched the internet for the address, but I didn’t. We drove down the main thoroughfare, and the storefronts triggered my memory. “I think the quilt shop is down that street. Turn right.” I wasn’t quick enough for my chauffeur, so we made a U-turn, parked in a free parking garage near City Hall and walked to People, Places, and Quilts.

Storefront in Summerville, S.C.

Many lovely quilt samples hang on the walls, and thousands of bolts of fabric line the shelves. Everything from brights, to ethnic prints, to juvenile, to Civil War reproduction fabric. The row of chairs in the hallway whose seats are covered in bold prints caught my eye.

Chairs for weary shoppers

After strolling through the shop and feasting our eyes on the vibrant fabrics and imaginative projects, I rewarded my uncomplaining chauffeur with lunch at a nearby soup, salad, and sandwich establishment!

Our next car trip to Rome Georgia for a retreat for Chaplains and spouses offered another opportunity for visiting a quilt shop. This time I did look on-line for shops in Rome or Atlanta. We took a driving break at the shop I’ve always wanted to visit, Little Quilts in Marietta, Georgia, slightly northwest of Atlanta.

Welcoming Entryway

Inside, my eyes darted from fabrics, to patterns, to books, to project samples. Everything was displayed as you would expect in an American country quilt shop! Their traditional style (reproduction, seasonal, country, patriotic) has expanded to include Kaffe Fassett and aboriginal fabrics, batiks, brights, and juvenile prints. Notice the Little Quilts book in the display below.

Display at Little Quilts

Following my nose to quilt shops . . . what a fun way to break up the monotony of road trips!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

