Little Boy Blue: Nine Patch Quilt

14 10 2012

Inspired by Grandma Emma’s pink and blue Nine Patch quilt (Sept. 29 post) and encouraged by my friend (and blog reader) Marie, I made “Little Boy Blue.” The quilt was photographed at WinShape retreat center in Rome, Georgia.

“Little Boy Blue”

You will find instructions for the quilt under the Patterns page of my blog. Using rotary cutting and strip piecing techniques, the quilt was quick and easy to make. The 43″ square quilt is the perfect size for my grandson who will arrive soon. But the colors are all “wrong” since my daughter-in-law is a Wolfpack rather than a Tarheels fan!

While making “Little Boy Blue,” I wondered how the quilt would look with scrappy Nine Patches and dark alternate squares and setting triangles. Here are the results!

Scrappy “Little Boy Blue”

Even the binding is scrappy. I used the brightest leftover binding pieces that I had accumulated for a cheerful and colorful finish. Would you like to peek at the back of the quilt? It contains a panel of orphan Nine Patches and one lone Four Patch.

Back of Scrappy Quilt

If you make a “Little Boy Blue” quilt, email me a picture of your rendition, and I’ll post it on this blog.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

