Hexagon Pillow

29 11 2012

In the July 27, 2012 post I wrote about a bag of vintage fabric, a gift I received years ago from my mother-in-law’s friend. My friend and blog-follwer, Stacy, suggested I use the Grandmother’s Flower Garden blocks instead of allowing them to languish longer in the scrap bag.

Because of Stacy’s encouragement, I hand appliqued one of the hexie rosettes onto a 21″ square of  light country print of a more modern era. My plan was to make a pillow for the lady who gave me the vintage fabric.

After hand appliqueing the rosette, I cut away the background fabric behind the rosette to facilitate hand quilting. The rosette is hand quilted with ecru thread. The background is machine quilted in a meandering design also with ecru thread.

From rudimentary internet research, I discovered that pillow forms are available in 18,” 16,” and 14″ sizes. So I trimmed the quilted pillow top to 19″ square; the extra inch is for the seam allowance.

For the back of the pillow, I cut two pieces of the light country print 13″ x 19.” One 19″ side on each backing piece is narrowly hemmed.

On my worktable, I placed the backing pieces, right sides down. overlapping the hemmed edges in the center. If your backing fabric is directional as mine is, place the top/upper backing piece on the worktable first; then place the lower backing piece on top of the upper backing piece. The over-lapped backing pieces fit into a 19″ grid on my cutting mat.

Next I pinned the quilted pillow top, right side up, onto the pillow backing. I pinned the backing and top together around all four edges. You can baste or serge the pillow pieces together if you wish.

To finish the edges, I applied binding just as I would on a quilt. I cut 2 strips of dark red fabric 2 1/2″ x width of fabric. I joined them and pressed the long strip in half to make French double fold binding. I think the binding looks similar to piping or cording, and it’s much easier to apply. I machine stitched the binding to the front and hand stitched the binding to the back of the pillow.

Spread the center opening of the pillow back apart and insert the pillow form.

Viola! One Grandmother’s Hexie Flower rescued from the scrap bag!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

