“Vintage Holiday”

21 12 2012

DSCN3684Several years ago, my friend Linda and I fell in love with and purchased half yard cuts of April Cornell’s “Vintage Holiday” line of fabric for Moda. We determined to have a block swap for two and make identical Christmas quilts. Linda, bless her heart, made all the tricky Star blocks, and I made all the Weathervane blocks, fussy-cutting angels for the centers.

I found the perfect spot for the photo shoot on my neighbor’s vintage surrey.

The season of Christmas turns my thoughts to yesteryear and “how we used to celebrate Christmas at Grandma’s house.” Favorite family quilts and ornaments and nativity sets come out of their storage places to cheer me with remembrances. One of our favorite family quilts includes the three wise men designed by Marge Edie with the addition of beards by my husband.

What could be more “vintage” than Jesus’ birth, over 2000 years ago? This is the season that we remember  and celebrate His coming as our Savior.  Wise women and men still seek Him!DSCN3696

Merry vintage Christmas to you and yours!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

