Twin Quilts

24 01 2013

My friend, Kathy, and I admired “Star Formation,” the cover quilt on the October 2011 American Patchwork and Quilting magazine. The quilt was designed by Paula Barnes and Mary Ellen Robison and is composed of 50 star blocks set on point. After evaluating our stashes, we were sure we would have enough dark, muted country fabric prints for the quilt without buying anything . . . except sashing and backing.

We decided the project would be more fun and would come together more quickly if we planned an exchange. We each made 25 different blocks and its twin for a total of 50 blocks. I kept one of each set of the blocks and gave the twin to Kathy. And she did the same for me.

Kathy finished her quilt first, and that motivated me to work on mine. Here is Kathy’s lovely quilt. Don’t the stars just sparkle?DSCN3662Kathy opted for maroon sashing and various off-white prints for the corner stones. I quilted her quilt in an all-over clamshell design.

I found a wonderful teal fabric (designed by Edyta Sitar) for my sashing and a coordinating tan print for the cornerstones at Loving Stitches quilt shop. To achieve queen size, I added an outer border of the teal fabric. “Florien’s Splendor” distributed by Quilts Complete was my choice of pantograph; I used tan thread.DSCN3859It was so motivational to work with a “quilt buddy” on this project. If we hadn’t set some deadlines for our exchange, I would probably be still dreaming about making the quilt rather than dreaming while sleeping under the quilt!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

