Easter Blessings

31 03 2013

DSCN4335

I Corinthians 15: 3, 4

For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received,

that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures,

and that He was buried,

and that He was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures.

Six or seven years ago, Penny encouraged members of Springfield Quilters Unlimited (of Northern Virginia) to make a Lenten Cross quilt during the season preceding Easter. She ordered patterns for those of us who elected to participate and hosted a workshop at the start of the project. The idea was to contemplate Jesus’ sacrifice on our behalf as we sewed our quilts. I began enthusiastically but didn’t finish by Easter and eventually shelved the project. Four years later I took the  project box to the spring retreat sponsored by Black Forest Quilters (of Stuttgart, Germany) and finished the quilt top. It is quilted with an Easter Lily pantograph by Dave Hudson (www.patternman.com). Hubby loves it, so it hangs in his office.

The original pattern, “Persian Puzzle and Turkish Twist,” was designed by Peg Bingham in 2006. My quilt is based on the supplement, “Lenten Cross and Trinity Cross.” I elongated the bottom portion of the cross and adjusted the border. Peg Bingham is from Akron, Ohio; the contact info I have is peg@pegspatches.com; 330-666-2575.

Wishing you a joyous celebration of Christ’s resurrection!

Actions

Information

One response

5 09 2014
Peg Bingham

Hi, Aby – Peg Bingham here! This is a fabulous interpretation of my pattern! May I share it on my website?

Leave a Reply

