12 Blocks Finished!

30 04 2013

This past weekend I determined to quit procrastinating and fulfill my obligation for a block swap. In my last blog, I promised to show all 12 blocks, once complete. Here they are!

DSCN4525

I am sure you notice that 5 blocks contain a lighter, brighter green fabric. Running out of background fabric necessitated a trip to my local quilt shop. After searching high and low, it was the closest match I could find to the prescribed green batik.

DSCN4527

The trickiest part in constructing this block was the black and green corner triangle unit. I cut the small triangles using the EZ Angle ruler designed by Sharon Hultgren. Cutting the print fabric triangle a little larger than necessary enabled me to trim the corner squares for perfect 4 1/2″ measurement.

DSCN4531

These blocks, lying side by side, make a wonderful design. The majenta diamonds seem to float on the quilt top. Maybe I will revisit this design idea for a future quilt. But for now, I will mail my 12 blocks to the exchange coordinator who will return my block plus eleven other different blocks. It will be interesting to see all the block designs and to make a sampler quilt with them.

DSCN4526

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

