Sowing Quilt Seeds

15 05 2013

In my May 2, 2013 blog post I showed some homespun plaid leftovers from my “Trip Around the World” project.

DSCN4540

I decided to use the leftovers or quilt seeds as a springboard for a lap quilt. Sixteen Nine Patch blocks should make just the right size quilt to give to a veteran at our local Veterans Hospital which Tarheel Quilters Guild supports as a charity.

I cross-cut the strip-pieced panel in 3 1/2″ increments and un-sewed to make two-sies and three-sies. I made several more strip-sets and raided my container of 3 1/2″ squares. To make Nine Patches, I sewed three 3 1/2″ squares together for each of the 3 rows needed for each block. I mixed in tonals and prints with the homespun plaids.

DSCN4577

Then I joined the 3 rows together to make Nine Patches.

DSCN4578

 When possible, I placed a light tan print square in the center since I planned for the “elbow” of sashing to also be a tan print.

DSCN4579

The “elbow” strips were cut 2 1/2″ wide. For each block, I needed one 2 1/2″ x 9 1/2″ strip and one 2 1/2″ x 11 1/2″ strip. The inspiration for this Nine Patch quilt was from a recent blog post by Bonnie Hunter. After assembling all 16 blocks, I placed them on my design wall, twisting and turning so that the “elbows” did not abut.

DSCN4580

Wow! that red square in the center sticks out like a sore thumb! I think I should perform a square-ectomy and insert a more subdued red. Can you find the block that is turned incorrectly? Design walls are invaluable!

Of course, there were some squares and tan strips left over. I could use them as starters for the next homespun project . . .

DSCN4584

. . . but I think a better idea is to sow these remaining quilt seeds on the back of the quilt!

DSCN4631

Sowing quilt seeds yielded a cozy lap quilt for charity.

DSCN4625

And I think the square-ectomy was a success, don’t you?

DSCN4633

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

