North Carolina Quilt Symposium Recap

28 05 2013

This past weekend the Tarheel Quilt Guild and the NC Quilt Symposium board hosted the annual state-wide “retreat.” How could I adequately describe the beauty and serenity of Methodist University’s campus, the wonderful quilt show, a plethora of vendor’s wares, tasty food, and fellowship with fellow quilting enthusiasts? Suffice it to say, “A good time was had by all!”

I taught 2 workshops and gave a demo. First up, on Friday was “Get the Point?” You will find pictures of 2 finished quilts on the Workshops page of this blog. However, here is a conglomerate of blocks made in the workshop.

DSCN4698

We experimented with various layout options, discovering that any of the typical Log Cabin or Shaded Nine Patch layouts would also work with this patchwork block.

DSCN4706

DSCN4705

Batiks really make the blocks shimmer!

DSCN4703

DSCN4704

The William Morris fabrics blended so nicely with a sage green background to create a rich, inviting feeling.

DSCN4702

I was so proud of my students; they worked diligently througout the 6 hour workshop!

DSCN4699

Saturday’s workshop was “Black Forest Christmas.” You will see a picture of the completed quilt on the Workshops page of this blog.”Black Forest Christmas” is a mystery quilt I designed for quilting friends in Stuttgart, Germany. I didn’t re-write the instructions, keeping the mystery clue format. This meant we could allow only 2 hours per clue. In Clue #1 we made 16″ Star blocks.

DSCN4707

Clue #2 was the Delectable Mountains pieced border . . . sorry, no pictures.

Clue #3 was the strip-pieced Tree block.

DSCN4708

Isn’t it fun to see everyone’s color/fabric choices for the trees and imagine how the background fabric will enhance them?

My Sunday morning demo was “Monkey Shines.” You will find a link to the instructions for this quick and easy quilt that is super fat quarter friendly on the Patterns page of this blog. My friend, Heather, kindly agreed to sew for me while I spoke.

DSCN4711

I really enjoyed participating in the North Carolina Quilt Symposium! Since I cut and sewed fabric to demonstrate the quilt-making process for each class, I now have 2 quilts and a tablerunner to complete. I need some quality and quantity time in my studio!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

