“Country Christmas” Finished!

10 06 2013

One of my earliest blog posts showed red, green and tan squares I made and received in a block exchange among quilting friends. The inspiration for the quilt is from the Winter 2011 issue of Primitive Quilts. Click here for the July 30, 2012 blog post.

Country Christmas block swap

The exchange is long finished, and I decided to free the blocks from their container and place them on my design wall. I used 48 of the blocks in a 6 x 8 grid. Such a beautiful variety of poison green and bright turkey red!

DSCN4663

Now to select fabric for the sashing. The tan fabric within the blocks is Kona Khaki. I thought I had enough Khaki for the sashing, but only  a scant 1/2 yd. remained after piecing my blocks for the exchange. Here’s is my shelf of neutrals. Surely, something here will blend with the tan in the blocks.

DSCN4665

Do you know how difficult it is to match tan? Some fabrics are too yellow-ish, some have gray overtones, some are too white. My best match was a print from “The Union Forever” line by Judie Rothermel for Marcus Fabrics. Hmmm, I intended to use this fabric as a backing, but would a print work as a sashing?

DSCN4730

I like it! It adds movement and interest to this very regulated and organized quilt.

DSCN4652

A border of the tan print, accent border of green, and outer border of red print, and the quilt is finished!

DSCN4749

For quilts with a Civil War era feel, I like to use one of three quilting motifs: Baptist Fan, Clamshell, or Feathers. For “Country Christmas” I selected a feather pantograph and used tan thread.

DSCN4750

An extra block made a perfect label with spaces to list all the block exchange participants.

DSCN4752

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

