“Sock Monkey Circus”

24 06 2013

DSCN4381

I am so excited to share a new baby quilt pattern with you! You can find a link to the instructions on the Patterns page of this blog under “Modern Baby Quilt:  Sock Monkey Circus.”

I challenged myself to make a modern baby quilt with fat quarters or quarter yard cuts of fabric. Can you believe only 1/4 yd. of the sock monkey fabric was required? Using a design wall was helpful in planning the placement of various sized squares of feature fabric and in distributing the bright tone-on-tones across the face of the quilt. I theorized that construction would be simpler if the finished sizes of squares, strips and blocks were multiples of 2.”

In attempting to balance the sock monkey feature fabric throughout the quilt, I placed squares of this fabric on the design wall first. I also made a Four Patch and 3 simple  6″ (finished) Square in the Middle blocks and placed them on the design wall.

DSCN4162

Next I framed the 8 1/2″ squares of sock monkey fabric with bright orange and lime green. I love the excitement of the multi-colored stripe.

DSCN4163

More strips and squares of various colors – it’s coming together!

DSCN4169

A few more strips and rectangles and then an outer border of blue and white polka dot fabric, and “Sock Monkey Circus” is complete!

DSCN4383

I quilted loops and double loops  with bright variegated thread.

DSCN4387

And now, I challenge you to challenge yourself to make a quilt using only 1/4 yd. of feature fabric. If you do, please email me a picture to share with blog readers.

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2016
Caty

Hi, I want to make this quilt! I’m in love with it! However I don’t have the time or Talent to guess at all the sizes of the blocks. Anyway you could share them with me? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

