Tic-Tac-Toe

8 07 2013

As a long distance member of the Modern Quilt Guild Stuttgart, I enjoy participating in their bi-monthly challenges. You can see my quilt made from using the challenge shirting fabric here. Using the shirt fabric was March’s challenge. I haven’t made the May challenge, “Cityscape.” But my grandson and I worked on the July challenge, “Circles.”

First, we played a game of Tic-Tac-Toe on paper; he was X’s, and I was O’s. He won! The paper served as our sketch for the quilt design. We chose red, black, gray and white fabrics. Kaleb suggested we make a checkerboard border, in keeping with a game theme. And we decided to quilt circles all over the finished quilt.

Kaleb 1

Kaleb sewed the X blocks while I hand appliqued the circle blocks.

Kaleb 2

So far so good!

Kaleb 3

“Arrrgh! I cut my quilt in half!”

Kaleb 3A

“Yes! I won the game!”

Kaleb 4

“We only need to add one more border.”

Kaleb 5

Quilting using the Hartley Fence circle maker

DSCN4868

The “Circles” challenge quilt is complete.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

