“Black Forest Christmas”

29 07 2013

At the end of May, I taught my design, “Black Forest Christmas,” at the North Carolina Quilt Symposium. The 8 quilters in my workshop class are making great progress on their quilts. Several ladies have finished the tops already!

Prior to the workshop, I also cut fabrics to make the quilt. I wanted to demonstrate the 3 major steps of the quilt, hands on, to my students. Since I have already made 2 Christmas quilts from this pattern,  I decided to make the quilt in fall colors: red, orange, gold, and green.

DSCN4814

Now to add some borders! Fortunately, I found just the right shade of olive green plaid fabric in my Civil War repro. stash, and I had just enough of the dark olive green tone-on-tone remaining from the interior patchwork to make an accent border between the “Delectable Mountains” border and the outer leafy print border.

DSCN4940

I used tan thread and a “Falling Leaves” quilting pantograph of various leaf shapes. Click here to see a line drawing of the pantograph.

DSCN4897

Step one: attaching binding

I purchased enough of the leaf print for backing and binding. My mother-in-law requested this quilt as a wedding gift for a cousin who loves fall colors. Come September, Black Forest Christmas   Autumn will have a new home!

You can see a picture of the Christmas quilt, made by Deb, on the Lectures/Workshops page of this blog.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

