“Rock Island Campfires” Finished

29 08 2013

Rock Island Campfires quilt

Several weeks ago, I began piecing blocks for “Rock Island Campfires.” You can read about the source of this design and my method for making the blocks here. I intended to make 20 blocks, sash them in black and finish with a wider black border. That done, I purchased 4 yds. of backing fabric. And then I realized that the backing was large enough to accommodate a larger quilt. So I added a “Piano Key” border, strip-pieced from colorful fabric. The red squares in the corners of the border are cut from the same fabric as the red centers in each patchwork block. This lends cohesiveness to the quilt, I think.

The patchwork design reminds me of a Union Jack flag or the criss-cross lines of a spider web. I found a spider web pantograph at www.patternman.com and quilted with a gray/black/green/purple variegated thread. Interestingly, the quilting design is most pronounced on the black border strips.

Even though this quilt used lots of scrappy strips from my storage container, there are plenty left for the next scrap quilt!

Are you working on a scrap quilt this summer?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

