“Penny Patch” Completed

1 12 2013

As I’ve mentioned previously, Rachel at stitchedincolor.com is hosting a Quilt Along (QAL) for her quilt “Penny Patch.” A “Penny Patch” button (link) appears at the bottom of the right column on my blog. Are you quilting along? I did!

Penny Patch with Brianna

On Friday, November 29th, Rachel called for pictures of completed quilt tops. It is so interesting to see the various color schemes of the participants! Take a look by clicking here.

DSCN5474

Because the quilt was so quick and fun to make, I am ahead of the QAL schedule. Using white thread and my longarm machine, I quilted a “Dogwood” design popularized by Elizabeth Hartman. Click here for her tutorial. I am very pleased with the texture that quilting added, but I was surprised at the time and amount of thread this particular design required.

Penny Patch quilted

“Penny Patch” has a new home in the college dorm room of my cousin’s daughter, Brianna. It will definitely keep her warm on chilly winter nights.

Penny Patch with Brianna 2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

