“Celtic Solstice” a Mystery

5 12 2013

“Celtic Solistice” is a mystery quilt designed by Bonnie Hunter of quiltville.com. For the past several years, she has challenged her blog followers with a mystery that lasts from Thanksgiving weekend through Epiphany. One clue is published each Friday.

I decided to play along this year, even though I will be out of town visiting relatives on some of the weekends and thus miss prime, uninterrupted sewing time. I will do my best to catch up during the week.

DSCN5638

This box, hand made by my friend, Katrin, a professional book binder, organizes my patchwork pieces.

Bonnie suggested lots of oranges, yellows, greens, blues and white/neutrals. Most of my neutrals are tan or cream based, so I decided since my colored fabrics are bright I will use only one white on white neutral for the whole quilt. In the end, we’ll see how it looks compared to Bonnie’s scrappy quilt.

DSCN5642

Click here to see the progress of over 195 (and counting) mystery quilt participants. Click on the button (bottom right of my blog) showing “Paddy” the green bear to connect with Bonnie’s blog. Then click on the “Celtic Solstice” tab at the top of the blog to see/read an explanation of the mystery. It’s not too late to join the fun!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

