Cute as a Bug

9 01 2014

DSCN5809

What would you do with a fat quarter of buggy caterpillar fabric? It is soooo cute! I raided my container of 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ “bricks” cut from scraps, looking for bright tonals that would coordinate with the bug fabric.

DSCN5813

I didn’t find enough white bricks in my container, so I cut some from various scraps. There are 81 blocks in the quilt. Each block is a white brick sewn to a colored brick and measures 4 1/2″ square, unfinished. Too easy!

DSCN5819

After sewing the blocks and laying them on the floor in a stair step pattern, I stacked them in rows from left to right and labeled each row with a number, 1-9.

DSCN5789

I tucked the blocks in a bag and carted them and my Singer Featherweight to a farm weekend enjoyed by hubby, me, and 2 other families. We vacationed by roasting s’mores over a campfire, playing board games, exploring the nearby town of Mount Airy, NC and hiking to a scenic overlook of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Sunday afternoon found most of the adults napping, so I pulled out my sewing machine and began assembling the rows of this stair step baby quilt. Third-grader Evan was intrigued. He graduated from being the snipper, to being the pin remover, to working the foot control. It was rewarding to work together to make the quilt top that will be given to a baby who needs extra love.

Evan 1

Here’s a close-up picture that illustrates the quilting designs I used.

DSCN5810

Make way for Evan, junior quilter!

Evan 2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

