Fabric Resolutions, January

15 01 2014

Do you have a New Year’s resolution regarding your sewing/quilting projects? Of course, we all have some UFOs (UnFinished Objects) that need finishing. But I’m making my 2014 resolutions about the fabric that I bought years ago that is still sitting in my stash . . . ripening. Each month, I’ll select some “why-did-I-buy-this?” fabric and actually make something with it.

Elephant fabric

This is my pick for January. I purchased several yards of each of these 3 prints several years ago at the Patch Multi-Crafts Center in Vaihingen, Germany. They would be perfect for baby quilts, but I never got around to making any. The fabric has been patiently waiting on the “Kids Prints” shelf in my sewing room.

An excuse to use these fun fabrics emerged with my opportunity to speak at my local quilt guild this Sunday, January 19th. I want to show my method for making this quilt.

DSCN5828

You can find complete instructions for making “Slice and Dice – Uneven Nine Patch” on the Patterns page of this blog. You need 1 FQ (fat quarter) of medium scale print for centers of each Nine Patch, 1 FQ tone-on-tone for corners of the Nine Patch, and 2 FQs for the rectangles in the blocks. For the sashing and border, you need about 3/4 yd. You need 1/3 yd. for binding.

Step 1: Cut all FQs in 4″ x 21″ strips.

Step 2: Sew the strips together into 2 panels as shown below. You will have 2 extra strips.

DSCN5832

Step 3: Cross cut the strips in 4″ increments. Sew the units together, alternating rows as shown in the following picture.

DSCN5829

Here’s the innovative, daring step, cut the quilt apart to make Uneven Nine Patch blocks! Click here to access the rest of the instructions.

Having several yards each of the elephant, bird and orange prints allowed me to make the various samples of each step to show the quilters in my guild. They can see the finished quilt as well as the intermediate steps.

If you live near Fayetteville, NC, why not join the Tarheel Quilters Guild this Sunday for their monthly meeting at 1:30 p.m. at the Westminster Presbyterian Church on Village Drive. I’ll show “Slice and Dice -Uneven Nine Patch” as well as about 10 other quilts that feature innovative cutting techniques.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

