Snow Day = Sew Day

29 01 2014

As predicted, Fayetteville received about 5″ of snow Tuesday evening. Our county does not own many road salting trucks or snow scrapers, so schools were officially closed. And Ft. Bragg was closed as well. How exciting to have an unusual amount of winter weather!

Celtic first border

Being semi snowed in is a great excuse to stay inside and sew! I concentrated my efforts on “Celtic Solstice.” The first 2″ border was attached before breakfast!

After helping hubby clear the driveway of snow and icy patches, I sewed on the pieced triangle border.

Celtic triangle border

I decided to enlarge the quilt by adding an additional white border and green print border. The green print is also used in the interior of the quilt; I bought yardage at Blue Crab Quilt Co. in Richmond, Virginia this past summer. I think green is a great way to finish an Irish (Celtic) quilt, don’t you?

Celtic borders

Perhaps I will have time to quilt my “Celtic Solstice” before Bonnie’s link-up party on February 2. If only we could have another snow day . . .

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

