“Charmville” QAL #5

3 02 2014

Have you added some houses to your “Charmville” Nine Patch village this past week? “Charmville” is published in the Feb./Mar. 2014 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts. You can order a copy of the magazine here.

Charmville-flat-600px

Heather wrote a question in her comment on the QAL #4 blog post last week. “How could I make a schoolhouse?” What a great idea; a little red schoolhouse would be such a cute addition to your patchwork village! First make a Nine Patch with red 1 1/2″ squares and a yellow window.

DSCN5872

After making a Flying Geese unit for the roof, I cut it in half (at the 1 1/4″ mark on my ruler). I made a belfry unit by piecing a 1 1/2″ black square between two 1 1/2″ x 2″ rectangles of sky fabric. I used the cut-away tip of the Flying Geese unit as the roof on the belfry.

DSCN5876

The schoolhouse measures the height of a house plus the sky strip above the house.

DSCN5877

Besides a schoolhouse, what else would beautify “Charmville?” A quilt shop? Trees? Karlyn asked for ideas on creating trees for “Charmville.” Here are three possibilities:

I have a ruler with a 45 degree angle. I placed it on a 3 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangle and cut away the excess triangles on the sides.

DSCN5879

Because my sky blue fabric is directional, it is important to keep the correct angle  and orientation of the triangle pieces. (I couldn’t just sew rectangles onto the sides of the tree and trim off the excess.) I used the cut-away triangles as a template of sorts for cutting sky pieces. I added a generous 1/4″ on the hypotenuses as seam allowances.

DSCN5880

After sewing the sky triangles to the tree triangle, I made a trunk unit. I cut the width of the trunk 1 1/4.” Generally, I make the units a little bit larger and longer than necessary. Then I can trim the finished tree to match the height of the houses as you can see in the picture below.

DSCN5882

Another simple tree starts with a 3 1/2″ green square. Sew small sky squares on each corner to make a “Snowball.” I used 1″ sky squares, but you could experiment 1 1/4″ squares. After attaching the trunk unit, trim the tree to the correct height or add a sky blue strip above the tree to make it the same height at the schoolhouse.

DSCN5883

A third tree style is comprised of 3 Flying Geese units. I cut the green rectangles 1 3/4″ x 3.” For each green rectangle, I cut two 1 3/4″ blue sky squares. After attaching the trunk unit, trim the tree to the correct height.

DSCN5884

Thanks, Heather and Karlyn, for thinking creatively about ways to modify “Charmville!”

DSCN5888

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

