Fabric Resolutions, February

4 02 2014

February, already? Where did January go?

It’s time to share my resolution to use a certain fabric from my stash during February. I chose a neutral with crosses printed in tan and gray.

Crosses fabric

I purchased about 3 yards of this fabric from Hancocks, thinking to use it as sashing in my “Plus” quilt pictured below. But after auditioning it between some of the blocks, I decided a white-on-white would better help the Plus blocks float on the background.

DSCN5833

Despairing of finding a center-stage use for the fabric, I relegated almost 2 yards as a lining for a large tote bag commissioned by my neighbor for his wife’s Christmas gift. What to do with the rest?

In a recent Quiltiferous post, my friend, Stacy, showed a scrappy block she’s making as a Leader/Ender project. She calls it Four-ty Niners. Click here to read about her project that uses 1 1/2″ squares cut from scraps.

I’ve been sewing my 1 3/4″ scrappy squares into Four Patches, two each of two different fabrics, as my Leader/Ender project.

Four Patches

But I’ve used up all the matches, and only one-of-a-kind squares are left in my container. In addition, I have some HSTs leftover from a project so ancient I have forgotten its design. I want to finally use these as well.

A square

Four-ty Niners will be a great way to use my squares AND use the neutral cross fabric.

Forty Niners quilt block

My scrappy Four Patches, a tad larger than Stacy’s, are 3,” unfinished. So I will cut the 4 plain squares 3,” too. And I’ll cut 8″ alternate squares to sew between the Four-ty Niners blocks. Because I have only little more than a yard of the cross print, I plan to make a small lap quilt to donate to our local V.A. hospital.

Thanks, Stacy, for a great idea!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

