Another Snow Day!

12 02 2014

Snow collage

If your news and weather TV channel said “Fayetteville received over 4″ of snow today,” they were correct! Ft. Bragg was even closed, so Ran and I stayed home together to watch the snowfall. Beautiful!

Dresden on the fence

This snowy day seems like a good day to share pictures of a Christmas “Dresden Plate” quilt I recently finished. In December 2012, Barbara and Cindy gave me several half cuts of fabric from Moda’s “Blitzen” line for my birthday. I added another red print from my stash and bought yardage for the outer border. I made the Dresden Plates and hand appliqued them onto a gray-white background. The setting was inspired by a modern, minimalist quilt from Angela Walter’s book, “Free-Motion Quilting.”

Quilting on Dresden Plate

I used light gray thread to quilt my “Dresden Plates” in a concentric teardrop design. This lovely quilt is extra special to me because of the friends who gave me the fabric to make it. I don’t think I’ll wait until next Christmas to display my “Dresden Plates!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

