“Charmville” QAL #8

24 02 2014

Let’s talk about quilting “Charmville.” (“Charmville” was published in the Feb./Mar. 2014 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts.)

I selected a light blue thread for machine quilting the rows of houses. The blue blends with the sky background fabric and acts as a blend-y neutral gray on the houses themselves. I used a water-y all over motif.

DSCN5949

I used orange thread to quilt texture in the orange border because I wanted the viewer’s eye to focus on the tiny houses, not on the quilting in the outer border. I quilted spirals and wavy lines. The wavy lines of orange thread stretch across the quilt through the black strips separating the rows of houses.

DSCN5950

Are you ready to quilt your “Charmville?”

Our Quilt A-Long finish of March 10 is drawing nearer. Remember we are having a viewer’s choice prize of my longarm quilting services. If you would like your “Charmville” to be considered in the balloting, please send me a picture in the next week or so to post on this blog. (If you do not know my email address, leave a comment and I will reply privately to you.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

