“Prism” – Variations on a Theme

6 04 2014

Have you downloaded the web bonus pattern for a table runner based on my “Prism” quilt published in the March/April 2014 issue of McCall’s Quilting magazine? If not, click here for the link.

DSCN6085

The blue and purple tints of the instructions inspired my search for springtime fabrics which I found in the bargain fat quarter container at the Calico House in Lincoln, Nebraska. I added a white tone-on-tone and green leaf print from my stash.

The “Prism” directions call for 4 1/2″ wide strips resulting in a 12 1/2″ width for the table runner. Since my dining table is fairly wide, I desired a wider runner with more color and less white background. I also wanted the runner length to measure no more than 42″ so the backing could be cut from 1/2 yd., selvage to selvage (without piecing it).

DSCN6094

From white background and green print fabric, I made three “Pinwheel” blocks that finish at 5.”  I cut the heather and lavendar prints 5 1/2″ x  8 1/2.”  From white background fabric, I cut two rectangles each of the following measurements: 5 1/2″ x 5 1/2,” 5 1/2″ x 10 1/2, ” and 5 1/2″ x 15 1/2.”

The runner was quick and easy to make. I pieced it in about an hour–no kidding! White thread was my choice for quilting figure eight loops in the three long strips.

DSCN6091

I’d love to see your “Prism” table runner in springtime colors!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

