April Fabric Resolution, Finished

23 04 2014

During the month of April I resolved to use a stash fabric printed with blue decorative plates. You can read the initial blog post here.

Plates fabric

I asked for your suggestions on ways I could use the fabric. I really appreciated all of your comments; you motivated me to actually make something with this lovely fabric! I must say that Renata’s idea of three criss-crossing table runners was super creative! And I seriously considered making kitchen curtains as Ruth suggested. In the end, however, I opted for placemats.

DSCN6114

I desperately needed some new ones to replace a tired set I’ve used off and on for over twenty-five years.

DSCN6118

I had enough fabric to make eight placemats, measuring 13 1/2″ x 18.”

The backing is a golden yellow tone-on-tone, also from my stash.

DSCN6115

I loaded the fabric onto my longarm as I would for a quilt: backing, batting, top (plate fabric). I quilted an all-over spiral design in lavendar thread. After quilting, I carefully rotary cut the eight placemats using a 21″ square ruler. Navy Kona cotton worked well for the double fold French binding.

DSCN6119

How nice to have fresh, new placemats for spring dinner guests!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

