Playmat for Aidan

26 04 2014

While cruising the equilter.com website for flip-flop fabric, I succumbed to the temptation to buy a “For Boys” bundle of bolt-end fabrics. Because it was on sale. Have you ever done that?  You go shopping for one item and find a couple more to add to the shopping cart.

It was fun to see what the bundle contained; I estimate the total amount was between 2 and 3 yards. I was especially happy to receive a panel with a road and outdoor vacation attractions. My little grandson, Aidan, loves to roll his trucks and cars along the floor. Won’t he have fun rolling them along the road of this panel?

DSCN6190

As is often the case with panels, the large motif was not printed exactly “square.” I trimmed the yardage into a rectangle and then added 2 1/2″ red borders.

DSCN6189

To make the quilt reversible, I constructed an “I Spy” quilt of 3 1/2″ and 6 1/2″ novelty print squares. I added a 6″ black border to make the “I Spy” quilt back larger than the front panel. Most of this black frame will be trimmed away after quilting.

DSCN6191

Fortunately, I had enough cogs and gears left over from another quilt to make most of the alternate blocks. Most of the novelty prints were included in “Four Patches.”

DSCN6192

Some of the larger prints received an “elbow” of color, bringing them up to the 6 1/2″ size.

DSCN6193

Here’s the finished “road map” side of the quilt. The black and white stripe binding fabric echoes the printed “border” of the quilt’s interior.

Aidan's Road map

The reverse side of the quilt is ready for a game of “I Spy with My Little Eye.”

Aidan's I Spy

Thanks for reading my blog today! Remember to be here on Monday, April 28 for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers, Vol. 9 blog tour. You will see my block and quilt that are printed in the magazine and you can register for prizes.

QMMS-140044-cover_125

Actions

Information

One response

1 10 2015
Emily

Can you tell me where you purchased the road map fabric?

Leave a Reply

