Blog Tour: Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 9 – Day 3

30 04 2014

Have you joined the fun of Quiltmaker magazine’s blog tour? Be sure to visit Quilty Pleasures to register for prizes and to find links to the block designer’s blogs featured today. Click the button below to access Quilty Pleasures.

joinforblogtour9_200

One of the blocks featured today is “Dashing Geese,” designed by Debbie Martin. I enjoyed scrolling through her blog shadowsoftheblueridge.blogspot.com. I think you will, too.

Debbie’s block has a vintage/modern look since she used a tan and white polka dot for the background with a navy striped fabric for the Churn Dash. I selected Civil War reproduction fabrics for my “Dashing Geese,” intending (some day) to include it in a Civil War sampler quilt.

Dashing Geese

As you know, the blocks included Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks are divided into categories: Applique, Foundation-Pieced, Mixed Technique, and Pieced. “Dashing Geese” is #883 in the Pieced section on page 67, and it requires some paper piecing.

Dashing Geese paper piecing

Paper piecing helped me achieve “perfection” in the triangle units. I pre-cut some pink rectangles that amply covered the large triangle areas, and I cut a 1 1/2″ strip of green print for covering the small triangles. I’m really happy with my block, and I thank Debbie for such a nice design.

Click here for a link to Debbie’s blog.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

