“Chicken Hearted”

7 05 2014

I am still very excited about the release of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol 9! Click the icon below if you can’t find the magazine at your local quilt shop or newsstand. You can order directly from Quiltmaker.

QMMS-140044-cover_200

Do you see the tiny chicken block on the cover of the magazine? I love that chicken block! When I saw it, I knew I had to make it. I bought the chicken wire fabric from Loving Stitches in Fayetteville, NC, and I found the other fabrics in my stash.

Chicken Hearted

This is block #846 designed by Sindy Rodenmayer.

See more of Sindy’s patterns at fatcatpatterns.com

Doesn’t it make you smile? If you know me, you know I often like to sing, hum, or whistle while doing housework or sewing. Characteristically, I was whistling in the kitchen one day while visiting my grandfather, in his 90s at the time. He was a man of few words, but all of a sudden, he pipes up with, “A whistling wife and a crowing hen – neither comes to a very good end!” I cracked up laughing. Where on earth did he come up with that adage?

I think I’ll finish this block as a wall quilt for my kitchen, and I’ll write the old saying on the back as a fond memory of Granddaddy.

If you’d like to make “Chicken Hearted,” and you can’t find any chicken wire fabric for the background, let me know, I have plenty to share.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

