Fabric Resolutions, June

11 06 2014

Over ten years ago, our fledgling quilt group in Hanau, Germany took a road trip to Aschaffenburg to Machamer fabric store. I bought a bundle of solids and prints in primary colors. And they have sat on my shelf ever since.

Gypsy wife fabrics

My friend, Stacy, has a copy of the directions for the “Gypsy Wife” quilt which I leafed through several months ago. And I thought, “Wouldn’t those fabrics from Germany make a wild and wonderful quilt?” So I resolve to use these fabrics to make this style of scrappy quilt this month!

Click here to visit Jen Kingwell’s blog. Jen designed the “Gypsy Wife” and other fabulous quilts. I also enjoyed Lily’s rendition of the quilt. Click here to see it on her blog.

I added some stash fabrics that seemed to blend. And I began cutting strips to make strip sets.

DSCN6324

I decided not to copy exactly the quilt blocks in Jen’s quilt but to just use the layout as a guideline. I riffled through the blocks in my “orphan blocks” container and selected those made with primary colored fabric.

DSCN6322

After making several blocks from the theme fabric, I began placing blocks and strip sets on my design wall.

DSCN6342

I will keep you updated on my progress!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

