“Gypsy Wife” Quilt Finished!

9 07 2014

DSCN6388

Finally, my colorful fabric jigsaw puzzle is finished! And my fabric resolution for June is complete.

GW on machine

My job of fitting various sized blocks together was made easier by constructing the quilt in five vertical panels. Each panel is 12 1/2″ wide to accomodate the 3 1/2,” 4 1/2,” 6 1/2,” 9 1/2,” and 12 1/2″ blocks I made. You can see the light gray fabric of my design wall showing between three of the panels in the photo below.

GW space between panels

I pinned the first two panels together, beginning at the top. After sewing and pressing, I added the third panel, and so forth. I trimmed the strips at the bottom of the quilt to even up the edge.

Yellow thread seemed the best choice for quilting. Anything more than a meandering design would be superfluous on such a busy quilt.

GW meandering

My choices for binding were solid black or scrappy strips using the remainder of the fabrics in my “resolution” bundle. On the one hand, black binding would finally give the viewers’ eyes a place to rest.

GW leftover strips

On the other hand, I do have enough leftover fabric for 2 1/2″ wide binding strips — why not use some more of the resolution fabric to complete my very scrappy quilt?

DSCN6386

The “Gypsy Wife” in all her glory!

DSCN6392

Actions

Information

9 responses

9 07 2014
Mary Ed

Love this quilt!

9 07 2014
Deborah

Wow! This really gets the wheels turning! I love the variety of pattern, scale, and color in this quilt!

9 07 2014
Diane

Glory is right on! It’s beautiful! Diane

9 07 2014
csgamble

I love the bright colors! It turned out great. You have such an eye and know just how to make things work!

9 07 2014
Marge Hicks

That IS bright. Love it.

9 07 2014
Marie Krause

It is a wonderful and colorful quilt! What a fun challenge! As always I expect it is more wonderful “in person” so to speak. Do you have a plan for it? I know it will be loved. – Marie

9 07 2014
Pam Bonstead

Oh, Aby! It’s beautiful! Love all the colors, and love the shooting star look it has!

9 07 2014
quiltiferous

Oh my! I love the scrappiness and the wildness of it! It’s awesome!

3 10 2014
Floral Fantasy Quilt Show | abyquilts

[…] This is my rendition of Jen Kingwell’s “Gypsy Wife” quilt. Isn’t it colorful? Since it contains floral fabrics, I named it “The Gypsy Wife’s Garden.” You can read more about this quilt here. […]

Leave a Reply

