“Disappearing Four Patch”

11 07 2014

Is this not the cutest quilt?

DSCN6242

My friend, Tricia, made it with a couple of Benartex Charm Packs (5″ squares). I love how fresh and cheerful the fishy, froggy, and geometric prints look against the crisp, white tone-on-tone background fabric.

I like the quilt so much, that I want to make one, too! Hmmmm, shall I run to the fabric store and find a Charm Pack or two of bright squares, or shall I cut 5″ squares from my stash?

Here’s what I found in my stash.

DSCN6338

I cut forty 5″ squares and paired them, print with coordinating tone-on-tone. Next I cut forty white 5″ squares and began sewing Four Patches as Leaders & Enders while working on the “Gypsy Wife” quilt.

Dis. 4 patch, stack of blocks

I rotary cut the 20 Four Patches 1 1/4″ away from the horizontal and vertical center seams.

Dis. 4 patch, cutting

The Four Patch Block becomes a Nine Patch!

Dis. 4 patch, pieces cut apart

After moving the pieces around as shown in the picture, I re-sewed each block.

Dis. 4 patch, pieces rotated

I arranged the blocks in a 4 x 5 grid and sewed them together.

DSCN6377

A white inner border and colorful striped binding complete the project.

DSCN6379

I used a light olive green thread to machine sew the binding. Amazingly, it blended well with all the colors of the striped fabric.

DSCN6381

Have you made a “Disappearing Four Patch” quilt?

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 07 2014
Conny

Actually I’m working on Disappearing-Nine-Patch, but have a request for a babyquilt for a new grand nephew/niece … this would be perfect! Thanks for sharing, Aby, it’s a very sweet quilt.

11 07 2014
frstborn

This looks great! I just happen to have a stack of 6″ squares that I was searching for a pattern for!

11 07 2014
dwlcmyers Luann

I have never made one but will now that I have this instruction and pictures. Thanks

11 07 2014
Barb chachabuck

Yes and it is a lot of fun. I like the crisp look.

Sent from my iPhone
>

13 07 2014
quiltiferous

I like the fresh look of color against the white, too! I’ve seen the instructions for this block once, but didn’t realize how very pretty the blocks looked together! What a neat quilt!

13 07 2014
Heather Raymond

Everything you do is amazing!

14 07 2014
Helga

Schon lange steht ein disappearing four patch Quilt auf meiner To Do Liste.
Jetzt ist er wieder in Erinnerung und ich bin schon dabei, Charm Packs dafür auszusuchen. Toll, Aby, dass Du uns immer an Deinen Arbeiten teilhaben lässt!

10 08 2014
Ilse

Hi, Aby,
Your July post inspired me to go through my kiddie fabrics and play with the hidden four patch pattern (it is always good to have a baby blanket in spare to give away….). I would have liked to have added a picture to this comment, but I couldn’t find out how….

10 08 2014
Ilse

Anyway, thanks for the inspiration.

8 10 2015
Cindy’s “Disappearing Four Patch” Quilts | abyquilts

[…] November, Cindy saw my “Disappearing Four Patch” blog post and decided to try out the quick and easy sewing/cutting method. She writes, “Love how they […]

Leave a Reply

