“Chevies on the Levee” Published!

27 07 2014

Cover sept oct 2014 mccalls

My subcription copy of McCall’s Quilting Sept./Oct. 2014 arrived in my mailbox last week. I was happy to see my quilt, “Chevies on the Levee,” pictured beautifully, draped over a boat with flipflops in the foreground and a lake in the background. The staff photographers at McCall’s are awesome; they imaginatively stage each quilt, inviting quilters to read the instructions and make the quilts!

Chevies-on-the-Levee-FLAT-600px

Click on the picture of the magazine; it is linked to the McCall’s website. Once there, you can order the magazine and see pictures of other projects it contains. Click on the picture of the quilt; it is linked to McCall’s description of my quilt.

McCall’s graciously sent extra copies of the magazine issue for me to share with my blog followers. If you would like to be in the drawing for a copy, “follow” my blog and leave a comment below saying which quilt in the issue most appeals to you. I’ll draw four lucky winners on August 2, 2014.

Alternate construction method: Instead of assembling the strip-pieced blocks in diagonal rows as the magazine shows, you can try an alternate and innovative piecing and cutting method. I’ll describe this method in my next blog post.

Actions

Information

9 responses

27 07 2014
DebM

Well done! And I love the name of your quilt!

27 07 2014
ehmerjudy

Oh Aby, we are so proud of you again!

27 07 2014
Mary Ed

H, Aby,
Yesterday we (the Durham-Orange Quilters Guild) had a donation quilt workshop and one of our members brought in a quilt that she had just made from McCall’s latest issue! And now I see that it was yours – what a great quilt!

27 07 2014
bjday68

I follow your blog and I like your Chevies on the Levies. b.j.day68 at gmail dot com

27 07 2014
Jen Johnston

Chevron is so hot right now….in fashion apparel and fashion decorating! Would love to learn how to do your technique!!

28 07 2014
Debbie D.

I follow you with feedly.. I think the Pretty Plates is the one my eye is drawn to besides yours.. I’m definitely more of a bright colors, modern look kinda gal!

28 07 2014
Diane

I really like your Chevies on the Levie quilt. The colors are displayed beautifully with blue border. Way to go! Diane

28 07 2014
Diane O

This magazine looks like it is full of fun ideas. I really like the ‘It’s Fall, Y’all: Fun Scrappy Autumn Quilt’. I love scrappy quilts! Diane

29 07 2014
Karlyn

Ooooh I would live to win! I want to try this quilt too!!

Leave a Reply

