“Chevies on the Levee” Alternate Piecing and Cutting Method

29 07 2014

DSCN5773

My son and daughter-in-law gave me a “Jellie” roll from JoAnns for Christmas. The roll of fabric contained 20 batik strips, 2 each of 10 different colors. This gift was perfect for a chevron quilt design idea I’ve had “on the back burner” for several weeks.

Chevron quilts are quite popular among modern quilters just now. I made mine the easy way with rectangular “bricks” instead of diamonds or half square triangles. To make sure my cutting technique was viable, I experimented with colored computer drawings.

DSCN5842

First I designed and printed the stairstep diagram, then cut it apart just as I planned to cut apart the quilt. I taped it together and made the second cut and taped it together again. Satisfied that the cutting technique would yield the results I envisioned, I began to sew and cut the fabric.

I sewed each batik strip to a white-on-white strip. I pressed the seams toward the batiks and cross-cut into segments. Measurements are given in the Sept./Oct. 2014 issue of McCall’s Quilting.

DSCN5777

Referring to my stairstep computer drawing, I arranged the square units on my design wall. I substituted blue batik squares for the black squares in my computer drawing.

DSCN5779

Notice the blue squares. Once the quilt top was sewn together, I cut the quilt, diagonally, through these squares. In the finished quilt, the blue becomes the setting triangles all around the edge of the quilt. I guarded against stretching the bias edges by stay-stitching prior to cutting. Look closely at the picture below to see a drawn chalk line and two machine stitched lines on both sides of the drawn line.

DSCN5781

I made the first cut from the bottom left corner diagonally upwards. This created a large patchwork triangle – the lower right portion of the quilt.

DSCN5783

I moved the large patchwork triangle straight up and sewed it to the top of the quilt.

DSCN5784

The second cut is through the chain of blue squares, upwards from right to left. This creates a large, patchwork triangle on the upper right. Now move the triangle on the right to the far left of the patchwork on the left (this becomes the bottom of the quilt); sew the 2 pieces together.

DSCN5785

 I added a border of blue batik to this colorful, “too easy” chevron quilt.

DSCN5837

Here’s a close-up of the quilt so you can see the swirly, freehand quilting.

DSCN5838

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

29 07 2014
Pam Bonstead

Ingenious!

29 07 2014
Karlyn

It’s just too cool!! Can’t wait to try it!

29 07 2014
Margaret

very nice, I love batiks and have a jelly roll but mine is 40 different fabrics, one of each

29 07 2014
Lady Londonberry (@ladylondonberry)

Simply amazing! It’s a shame all the McCall readers will not get to take advantage of this unique cutting method!

29 07 2014
Barb chachabuck

This is a great process and beautiful quilt that i cant wait to try. Thank you for your creativity and generous spirit

Sent from my iPhone

>

30 07 2014
csgamble

How in the world did you ever think of that?!! Brilliant! Hope to try soon.

30 07 2014
Mary Ed Williams

Well, that is just too cool! Love the idea and the quilt!

Leave a Reply

