“Four-Patch X” Scrappy Quilt

6 08 2014

Have you purchased your copy of Bonnie Hunter’s new book, More Adventures with Leaders and Enders?

IMG_3206

Several months in advance of publication, I began making Four Patches from 1 3/4″ scrap squares as leaders and enders as I pieced other quilt projects. I just had the feeling that Bonnie’s new book would have several projects that called for scrappy Four Patches. I was not disappointed.

I am drawn to “Narragansett Blues,” pictured at the bottom right corner of the book cover, and “Four-Patch X.” Since I didn’t have the 287 dark/light Four Patches needed for “Naragansett Blues,” I opted for “Four-Patch X.”  I pinned the Four Patches I had made in compatible groups of five each and tucked them into a project box. (“Four-Patch X” also appeared in Quiltmaker Sept./Oct. 2010 in Bonnie’s “Addicted to Scraps” column.)

Four-Patch X quilt block

I had two fat quarters of bright yellow and yardage of black Kona cotton to make the triangles for the block as shown in Bonnie’s quilt. I had to change the measurements of the yellow and black triangles since I am using different size squares than the pattern calls for. Mathematically, there is enough yellow in two fat quarters for 24 blocks. Hooray, that will make a nice size lap quilt! I cut 5 1/4″ yellow squares, and then I cut them on both diagonals, making 4 triangles. This cutting method insures I’ll have straight of grain on the sides of the blocks with no stretchy bias edges. For the block’s corner triangles, I cut black 3 1/2″ squares. I cut these in half on one diagonal. Both the yellow and the black triangles are way over-sized, but this will make squaring up easier once I complete all the blocks.

IMG_3207

My project box contains a lot of Four Patches with yellow or gold squares. I plan to use them in the center of the X or reserve them for a pieced border. The block is more dramatic if yellow squares aren’t adjacent to the yellow triangles.

Do you have a Leader/Ender project? Are you using squares or triangles?

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 08 2014
quiltiferous

Your commercial makes me want both of Bonnie’s books! I love leaders and enders, and am still working slowly on my four patch quilt. It should wind up being twin sized, which is good. We’ll be needing more quilts this winter!

16 08 2014
Jen Johnston

I need a lesson on leaders and enders!

Leave a Reply

