“Jelly Roll 1600” Race

25 08 2014

DSCN6468

Kristin, one of the Quilting Circle members, suggested we plan a “Jelly Roll 1600” Race for our August meeting. You Tube has several explanatory videos on this fun, quick and easy quilt. Click here to view the one that motivated our group.

Question:  Which Jelly Roll shall I purchase? There are so many lovely fabric lines to choose from! Coordinating prints to blendy batiks; it’s a tough decision. Then I remembered that several years ago I machine quilted a “Jelly Roll 1600” quilt for Tricia. She used fall themed fabrics: browns, greens, oranges, rusts, etc. The colors and fabrics blended so nicely, so I decided to look for similar fabrics for my “JR 1600” quilt.

IMG_3247

At the end of July, Karlene and I attended the AQS quilt show in Charlotte, NC. We were attracted to the Quick Qut Quilts booth (quickqutquilts@gmail.com). The friendly ladies cut and package 2 1/2″ wide strips and 10″ squares. All the fabrics coordinated beautifully, and best of all, the edges were straight-cut rather than pinked. I found a package of strips in fall colors!

IMG_3250

For our Quilting Circle race, we decided everyone could have a head start by sewing the strips together at home prior to the August meeting. I spent about an hour joining my 40 strips diagonally, trimming away the excess seam allowance and pressing the seams open.

IMG_3251

As you can see in the video, the first seam, which pairs the beginning of the strip to the end, is 800″ long. Whew! The fabric tends to twist in the middle. (Note to self: Instead of joining all 40 strips together end to end, make two long strips of 20 strips each. This will allow me to untwist the strips as I sew.) The first two seams seemed to take forever! But by the last seam, we were happy to be on the short home stretch.

DSCN6471

Mary Ann helps me cut the panel in half while Anna looks on

Courtney won our race! Instead of purchasing a Jelly Roll, she rummaged through her stash of blue, green, and white fabric. Some strips were 40,” many were shorter. I love the prints she included in the mix.

DSCN6469

Kristen had fun with the two owl themed half jelly rolls she purchased from Hobby Lobby. We were amazed at the random but organized strata created with alternating purple and light, aqua and light, and pink and print fabrics.

DSCN6473

I am happy with my “JR 1600” quilt, and I know just who to give it to! One of my friends, who currently needs encouragement after surgery, loves to decorate for fall. It will suit her perfectly!

DSCN6467

Karlyn didn’t attend our Quilting Circle race, but she “ran” on her own time. She plans to give her quilt to her mother who is undergoing treatment for cancer. You can see that, with borders, the Jelly Roll 1600 quilt is a sizeable lap quilt.

IMG_3279

Have you made a “Jelly Roll 1600” quilt? Tell us about your quilt in a comment below.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 08 2014
Marie Krause

I have never done this and I think it looks like a lot of fun….BUT….my question to you is what happened to all the scraps you cut off to sew those strips together on a diagonal????

26 08 2014
Kristin

I enjoyed making this fun and simple quilt! That first seam goes on and on. 🙂

27 08 2014
Jen Johnston

I’m sorry I couldn’t join in the race, but I really enjoyed watching these quilt tops come together!

Leave a Reply

