“Jelly Roll 1600 Quilt” Finished!

6 09 2014

IMG_3292

Autumn will soon arrive, and here’s a quilt to herald the season.

Since our Quilting Circle’s “Jelly Roll 1600” race a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been working on completing the quilt. Adding top and bottom borders of the autumn leaf print was no problem. However, the sides of the quilt were uneven due to the speedy way the quilt was constructed. Instead of trimming the sides with rotary cutter and ruler, I allowed the border strips to be my straight edge. If you look closely at the picture, you can see that the interior of the quilt extends past the border in places.

DSCN6523

Guesti-mating by eye is one thing, but verifying with a tape measure made sure my quilt was the same width from top to bottom. Before sewing the side border strips onto the quilt, I measured from the outer edge of the left border strip to the outer edge of the right border strip in five places through the width of the quilt. After some minor adjustments, I sewed the side borders to the quilt.

DSCN6524

I used gold thread to quilt an edge to edge design of various leaves. Click here to see the “Falling Leaves” pantograph I purchased from The Pattern Man.

This is the perfect quilt for curling up under in front of the fireplace with a good book on a frosty evening!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2014
Kristin

Beautiful! I have my “Jelly Roll 1600” quilt top completed. I purchased batting today so I’m hoping to finish soon. 🙂

7 09 2014
Mary

I’d love to see the entire quilt as I’m making one of there’s with black and white fabrics. I think adding more strips will make it wider so I don’t have to have borders.

Leave a Reply

