Launching “Table Tiles” Quilt-A-Long

8 09 2014

Quick Quilts OctNov 2014 Cover

As previously written, my table runner, “Table Tiles,” was published in the October/November 2014 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts. I hope you have been able to find a copy of the magazine at a newsstand or your favorite fabric store. If not, you may order a copy (paper or digital) from the McCall’s website. The McCall’s editors posted instructions for a lap quilt version of the design. Click here to find basic measurements and instructions.

Table-Tiles-125px

Several blog readers commented that they would be interested in participating in a QAL for “Table Tiles.” That means several more of you are also interested even though you preferred not to comment. Am I right?

If you are like me, you are more likely to work on a project if you have a deadline or an accountability partner. When I state to a friend, “I am interested in working on this quilt,” I am more likely to follow through and actually do it because I know she will ask me about my progress, cheer me on, and compliment me when I finish. I challenge you to participate in the QAL; by signing up to participate, you’ll be motivated to make a lovely quilted table decoration for yourself or for a special person on your holiday gift list.

Roman Stripe table runner

This is a relatively small and easy project, so the QAL will finish up at the end of October. Each Monday between now and then I’ll post about “Table Tiles.” I’ll need some pictures of your quilt in progress to make the blog posts more colorful. So please send me pictures: aby.quilts@gmail.com

Step One: Select a fabric or color palette. Blog readers, anxious to win a copy of the Quick Quilts magazine, commented with some fantastic ideas: Patriotic, gray and yellow, pastel, scrappy red and blue, baby quilt size, Southwest batiks, black and red, blue with white and gray, 1930s reproduction, red and green for Christmas, reds, primary colors with black.

Here’s the “Accountability” part—leave a comment below if you will participate in the QAL stating your fabric or color palette. I’ll be first: I am going to use some ethnic prints I obtained on a mission trip to Kenya three years ago. I’ll pair these with black, and this will also be my Fabric Resolution for September. (Yes, I am multi-tasking!)

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

8 09 2014
Jen Johnston

Although I love the looks of this design, I think I better pass this time! Still working on 2 projects!!!

8 09 2014
Debbrah

I will be using lime green, yellow and orange.

9 09 2014
Lady Londonberry (@ladylondonberry)

I bought some Fairy Frost and my daughteer painted this picture that I thought would be a good idea to quilt. The colors from the fairty frost (blues with sparkles) and this pattern will be perfect!

14 09 2014
Crafty Ashley B

Think I’ll use pink and purple fat quarter bundles. Unsure what I’ll use as the accent color.

16 09 2014
ehmerjudy

Count me in, I’ll decide on fabrics soon!

18 09 2014
Deborah

I’d love to join, but I have to finish “slant six” before I start another project. Darn job! 😉

Leave a Reply

