“Chippewa” Scrap Quilt

12 09 2014

One of the quilting bloggers I follow is Allison at Cluck Cluck Sew. The simplicity of her “easy” quilts is so fresh and pretty! She also tries challenging projects with angles and curves. One of her quilts that caught my eye is “Chippewa,” named after her street. Click here to read about Allison’s quilt and to view her tutorial.

Allison make her quilt with 2 1/2″ squares. I, on the other hand, had an overflowing bin of 3″ squares. I carried them to our country property (“The Quarry”) a couple of Saturdays ago, and while our husbands went scuba diving, Lynn and I played with fabric squares.

DSCN6514

Lynn decided she could select squares better if they were separated by color and by pattern. After we sorted, we laid out the blocks on an old white sheet beginning in the center. We had enough squares to design two quilts. Then I set up my Featherweight machine and sewed the rows together.

 Featherweight at quarry

I didn’t bring white fabric with me to complete the design, so I pinned the rows to the sheet, shingling them to save space.

DSCN6534

For the first quilt we worked on, I felt that the outermost round should be dark to accentuate the diamond shape. But then I looked at Allison’s blog again and noticed that her outer round was of medium value. Lynn and I decided that a pink round would best coordinate with the pink center of the second quilt.

Once home, I figured out the lengths the white strips needed to be cut, writing them on my white board. This was handy to have near my cutting table for easy reference.  Notes:  I used about a yard of white fabric for each quilt. If you want the quilt top to fit on a 40″ – 42″ width of backing, decrease the center design by one round or “ring” of squares.

DSCN6536

I pressed the seam allowances in odd numbered rows to the right and on even numbered rows to the left. I began sewing the rows together in the center of the quilt, decreasing the necessity of pinning every seam allowance.

DSCN6525

I sewed the rows for the two halves of the quilt together, then I joined the halves.

DSCN6529

Lynn and I concluded this quilt would be perfect for a baby girl.

IMG_3301

For the backing, I found a cute print in just the right shade of pink on the clearance rack at JoAnn’s. Unfortunately, it wasn’t wide enough, so I inserted a panel of teal hand-dyed fabric. To better coordinate with the patchwork pattern on the front of the quilt, I constructed a strip of squares for the back. As you can see, I quilted spirals, freehand, with white thread.

IMG_3299

I plan to postpone finishing the other “Chippewa” quilt; it will be my “Bible Study” quilt this semester. I’ll ask class members to select 3″ squares each week to incorporate into a border for the quilt. (You can read about other “Bible Study” quilts by typing “Bible Study” in the search box in the upper right corner of my blog.)

DSCN6541

This quilt design, which uses scrappy squares, has lots of visual appeal, don’t you think? Incidentally, Allison has designed a newly released line of fabric, “Oh Clementine,” manufactured by Windham Fabrics. You can read about it here on Cluck Cluck Sew.

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 09 2014
Mary Ed Williams

Once again, thanks, Aby, for sharing this quilt. I think I’ve told you this before, but I’m always looking for cute, simple patterns for our guild members to make at workshops. A lot of Allison’s quilts are perfect! And yours is wonderful! I hope to get the chance to start one this weekend. I’ll be sooooo glad when winter comes and I don’t have to worry with a yard and garden!

12 09 2014
quiltiferous

I like Allison’s style lots! It sounds like you had a fun day sewing! =}

29 12 2014
Bible Study Quilt Finished! | abyquilts

[…] by Allison Harris who blogs at Cluck Cluck Sew, and you can read about the beginning of this project here. I constructed the center of the quilt this summer, and added the border of 3″ squares bit by […]

Leave a Reply

