Connie’s Birthday Quilt

14 09 2014

In March of 2013, my father, a widower for nearly 10 years, married Connie. In the process of combining their households, she found several boxes of stitchery projects and notions. Included were 3 scrappy quilt tops made by her aunt. I appropriated the notions I could use, offered some to Trinity and Dawn, and placed the remainder on the “free table” at my guild.

Thinking to finish a quilt top for her birthday gift, I asked Connie which of the three was her favorite. She selected the hexagon quilt.

DSCN5450

Talk about a random, mostly low volume design! I surmise that most of the fabrics are poly cotton, perhaps from curtain-making scraps. In the center of the quilt, the medium sized hexagons were pieced by hand with a scant 1/8″ seam allowance. Perhaps Auntie decided to hurry the project along by machine stitching the rest of the quilt!

DSCN5451

Picking up on the blue hexagons in the patchwork, I selected a blue tone-on-tone from my stash for borders. Connie’s favorite color is pink, but I think a pink border on this quilt would appear too washed out. What can I say? I am a “high contrast quilter!” I did, however, find a pink floral for the back of the quilt.

I didn’t trim the sides of the hexagons until after adding the border. The quilt measures 53″ x 73,” a nice lap size.

DSCN5454

I used a polyester batting in order to ease in some of the fullness in the quilt’s center. An all over freehand flower, loop, and leaf design suggests “Grandmother’s Flower Garden,” a typical name for a hexagon quilt. I used a light blue variegated thread which shows up nicely on the dark blue border and minimally in the quilt’s interior.

DSCN5471

Won’t Connie be surprised to receive a project she thought she had gotten rid of, once and for all?

DSCN5473

I already have plans to complete the other scrappy quilts, perhaps they will make nice family picnic quilts for Connie’s two grown children. (Note: I wrote this blog in the fall of 2013 . . . and neglected to post it. Since I am working on Connie’s other scrappy quilts, I thought you would be interested in seeing this one first.)

You can read about another vintage hexagon quilt that I finished for a customer here.

Actions

Information

One response

14 09 2014
Mary

I’ll bet she loved it!

Leave a Reply

