“Table Tiles” QAL

15 09 2014

Have you gathered the fabrics for your “Table Tiles” runner? I’m using ethnic African prints. When I opened my box of scraps collected on my trip to Kenya three years ago, here’s a sampling of what I found.

African prints

African prints

While in Nairobi, the eight people on our mission trip team stayed with families in the large church we visited. My husband’s administrative assistant and her husband happened to stay with a dressmaker, and she was happy to give me a sack full of 100% cotton scraps. What a treasure trove! Upon returning from our trip, I made three lap quilts for team members, but I didn’t get around to making a souvenir for Ran and myself. There is no time like the present!

I have several large pieces of ethnic fabric, but I intend to use the narrower scraps for my “Table Tiles” runner. Perhaps one of the larger pieces will serve as a backing.

If you are participating in the QAL (Quilt-A-Long), leave a comment below detailing your progress. Did you acquire the fabric in an ususual way as I did? If you are still sitting on the fence about making this project, please join in the fun!

You will find the pattern for “Table Tiles” in the October/November 2014 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts. The editors have provided a web bonus with measurements and instructions for a lap quilt. Click here to access the web bonus pattern.

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

16 09 2014
ehmerjudy

I just decided to do this so I am going to check my stash for fabrics! I’ll let you know what I find but maybe not until after the France quilt show, we leave tomorrow till Sunday for that!

Leave a Reply

