Floral Fantasy Quilt Show

3 10 2014

The Floral Fantasy quilt show is happening this weekend at the Cape Fear Botanical Gardens in Fayetteville, NC. If you live near Fayetteville, please feel welcome to attend! The Botanical Gardens invited my guild, Tarheel Quilters, to stage a quilt show in connection with their annual Heritage Festival. For a fee of $10, you can view the beautiful gardens and the lovely quilts! The address is 536 Eastern Blvd., Fayetteville, NC  28301. The show began Thursday, Oct. 2 and continues through Sunday, Oct. 5, opening at 10 a.m. each day.

I entered eight quilts. Some were made recently, some I completed over ten years ago. The quilt show planners asked for quilts portraying the floral theme, so I rooted through my closet and found those I thought would help round out the display. Would you like to see what I’m entering?

DSCN6392

This is my rendition of Jen Kingwell’s “Gypsy Wife” quilt. Isn’t it colorful? Since it contains floral fabrics, I named it “The Gypsy Wife’s Garden.” You can read more about this quilt here.

A quilt show 3

Conny, Helga, and Angela will recognize this one, “Japanese Basket.” It’s our round robin organized by the Log Cabin Ladies of Esslingen, Germany. All the participants used daiwabo fabric provided by the guild.

A quilt show 5

“Friendship Garden” is made from a floral fabric exchange among the Springfield Quilters Unlimited of Northern Virginia about seven years ago. Click on the picture for a close-up view of the floral quilting in the “Snowball Blocks.”

A quilt show 1

If you lived in Stuttgart from ’09 to ’12 and frequented the Patch Barracks Multi-Crafts Center, you might have signed up for the “Fruehlingzeit” sampler quilt class. Read more about this quilt here.

A quilt show 2

“Obst und Gemuese” was also completed in Germany. Birgit sponsored a “basket block” challenge at her shop, Patchcom, in Schoenaich. I fused fruits and vegetables onto a simple patchwork basket, and then I quilted the German names of fruits and vegetables in variegated green thread in the light background area.

A quilt show 4

Here’s an oldie, but goodie. I recently rescued this quilt from my son’s linen closet. (It no longer fit his decorating scheme.) Our quilt group at Ft. Polk, LA exchanged floral and white half square triangles (HSTs). I used my HSTs to make basket blocks. This quilt is so “old,” it’s hand quilted rather than longarmed!

Garden-Pavers-flat-600px

“Garden Pavers” was published in McCall’s Quilting, Sept./Oct. 2013. I wanted the look of “Grandmother’s Flower Garden,” but I didn’t want to spend the time English Paper Piecing the hundreds of hexagons necessary to make a quilt! My solution was to hand applique a small hexagon onto a circle which I then hand appliqued onto a large hexagon. This was a take-along project for two or three years. After making “enough” pieces, I machine sewed them together. I hand appliqued the patchwork to a brown background which formed the borders of the quilt. You can read more about this quilt here.

A quilt show 6

I consider “Fall Harvest” one of my masterpieces. It appeared in Quilters Newsletter beginning in 2000 as a series quilt designed by Ann Seely. Excitedly, I began the project and kept up for awhile. The hand applique slowed me down so much so that I left off one corner. I thought perhaps I would quilt the shapes of the flowers and vegetables in the blank corner. I procrastinated on that idea for two years. Then, in 2009, I decided to just finish the quilt with an all over feather pantograph and be done. Quilters Newsletter has just released the design as a pattern. You, too, can make this quilt!

Stacy at Quiltiferous.wordpress.com also entered some of her quilts in the Floral Fantasy Show. Click here to see what she submitted.

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 10 2014
Mary Ed Williams

These are incredible quilts! You are a busy lady. I hope I can come to the show – what a great idea to put it in the gardens. It will probably be Sunday – will you be there?

3 10 2014
quiltzone10

Aby, Garden Pavers description tickled me in that you ended up machine piecing them together. Woman after my own heart! I’m working on a quilt where I’ve machine quilted triangles and some end up looking like hexagons from a distance. Then I turned around and hand embroidered my poem and a saying by Maya Angelou on it. It still needs quilting; will post when finished. Love you! Beth

3 10 2014
quiltiferous

The quilts you entered are so pretty! Here’s hoping you win something. Either way, your quilts will make for a beautiful show!

3 10 2014
Pam Bonstead

“Fall Harvest” is exquisite!

Leave a Reply

