“Window Pane Disappearing Nine Patch”

24 10 2014

The “Disappearing Nine Patch” quilt design is fairly popular; perhaps you have made one like my quilt for Hazel Poppy. But have you heard of a “Window Pane Disappearing Nine Patch?”

IMG_3355

You can see a tutorial for this quilt design by Jenny Doan of Missouri Star Quilt Company on You Tube. I have been saving two sets of charm squares for just such a project. (These were birthday gifts from the Nuertingen quilt group in Germany.)  Jenny Doan used black strips between her charm squares. However, since my 5″ squares were dark, rich jewel tones, I selected a tan, swirly fabric  for contrast instead.

I cut the tan fabric into 1 1/2″ strips and sewed them between the 5″ squares.

DSCN6652

Then I cut these “Window Pane Nine Patches” into 4 equal squares.

DSCN6653

I made 8 large “Window Pane Nine Patch” blocks which yielded 32 small blocks.

DSCN6654

I arranged the blocks in a 5 x 6 grid on the floor and turned the blocks so no seams matched as Jenny instructed in the tutorial. With this arrangement, I had 2 small blocks left over.

DSCN6682

After moving the blocks around a bit to distribute the various colors, I sewed the blocks in each row together and then joined the rows. I decided to add a 4″ border of the tan swirly fabric.

DSCN6736

The striped flannel for the backing was a “free table” find at my guild. The colors blend perfectly with the warm tans and oranges in the quilt. I enlarged the backing by adding a panel of burnt orange and the two leftover blocks.

IMG_3356

As you can see in the photo above, I quilted freehand curls in gold thread to mimic the swirly tan print. A half yard of dark teal fabric inherited from my mom made a handsome binding.

IMG_3362

Won’t this make a comfy quilt for a patient at the V.A. hospital?

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 10 2014
frstborn

Aby, this is coming just in time! I have a charm pack that I have been looking to do a simple quilt with…this one would be simple and impressive. Thank you!

25 10 2014
Deborah

If I ever finish my slant six, this one is next! 😀

26 10 2014
quiltiferous

Lovely quilt!!! It’s so good to see “free table” things being used! =}

3 12 2014
Erin

Love it! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

