Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 10 Blog Tour, Day 1

17 11 2014

What an exciting week for you, my blog readers! You can participate in the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 10 Blog Tour and register for drawings for magazines and prizes. Click the icon below to link to Quiltmaker’s blog, Quilty Pleasures. Be sure to visit the blog each day; links will be listed for the designers featured. Different designers each day!

Quiltmaker joinforblogtour10_200

 Since receiving my advance copy of Volume 10, I have made some blocks to include in a Christmas sampler quilt. I’ll show you a different block each day this week, enticing you to purchase the magazine and try some of the blocks for yourself.

For today, I’ll show you “Palazzo,” block #985, designed by Scott Murkin. His web address is patchworkpossibilities.com.

Palazzo # 985

Palazzo # 985

This pieced block was not difficult to make, BUT I had to un-sew several seams. If you look at the block closely, you will see that I used two light background fabrics. The fabric with Christmas/holiday words, a gift from my German quilting friend Julia, is directional. I wanted all the words to read right side up . . . but I inadvertantly turned some of the rectangles and squares during the sewing process. Thank goodness for seam rippers!

I can just imagine an entire quilt made with this block; an interesting secondary pattern would emerge!

Don’t forget to link to Quilty Pleasures, register for the drawing, and check out the featured designers on Day 1 of the Blog Tour.

 

Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2014
Ginette G.

I love this .

Leave a Reply

