“Grand Illusion” – Catching Up

23 12 2014

“Grand Illusion” is Bonnie Hunter’s online mystery quilt this year. She posts a clue each Friday on her blog quiltville.blogspot.com and encourages participants to photograph and post their progress on a Monday “link up party.” Realisticly, I knew my sewing time this month would be minimal since I’d be out of town many of the weekends in December. But I had some beautiful fabric in my stash that I wanted to use . . . so I began. You can read my first post about the project here.

During the past few days, I’ve had some time to sew, so I’ve been catching up with the mystery clues. Happily, I’ve finished clues 1, 2, and 4.

DSCN6890

I wonder if the blocks will look like this. I doubt it, but it’s fun to imagine and play with the pieced units!

DSCN6891

And I’m working on Clue 3.

DSCN6892

If you look at the link up of other participants (here), you’ll see that most of the folks are using green squares with black and neutrals. My units look different because I’m using the ornate print as a constant in place of scrappy greens. How this substitution will look when the quilt is complete is definitely a mystery!

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 12 2014
Kate

Your colors look great!

24 12 2014
Loris Mills

Love your color choices! Have fun! I can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

25 12 2014
Lisa Guthrie

Oh this looks pretty! Great effect.

6 02 2015
Progress on “Grand Illusion” | abyquilts

[…] written about the “Grand Illusion” mystery quilt designed by Bonnie Hunter. Click here to see my late December post. Since Bonnie is having a link-up of mystery projects, I decided to […]

Leave a Reply

