Bible Study Quilt Finished!

29 12 2014

 

DSCN6918

For the past two years, I’ve used fabric squares as an ice-breaker activity in my Bible study classes, turning them into quilts which one lady in the class wins in a drawing.

This fall I facilitated “Chase” by Jennie Allen; the study encouraged us to chase after God’s heart as the Old Testament character David did. Our class was small, allowing for transparency in group discussions. Everyone enjoyed choosing a square each week to add to the border of the quilt. Examples of the ice-breaker questions: Which fabric describes your mood today? What do you enjoy about Fall? What was your take-away from this class?

The quilt was designed by Allison Harris who blogs at Cluck Cluck Sew, and you can read about the beginning of this project here. I constructed the center of the quilt this summer, and added the border of 3″ squares bit by bit each week of the fall semester.

Featherweight at quarry

For the back of the quilt, I used a birdhouse fabric in faded tones. Since the quilt size exceeded the width of the fabric, I added a strip of 6″ “Ups and Downs” blocks along with several strips of blue fabric. Now the quilt is reversible!

DSCN6916

Selecting a quilting thread color was a dilemma. Usually I match the background color – white, in this case. But I felt white would be too stark against the royal blue border. I auditioned a muted medium blue thread, and found that it blended well on the blue border as well as in the center patchwork. I am pleased that the blue thread subtly adds texture to the white background without calling undue attention to the over all spiral quilting design.

Kelley was the winner of the Bible Study quilt! The quilt is 60″ square and will be perfect for Kelley’s sofa.

"Chippewa" Finished

“Chippewa” Finished

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 12 2014
Marge

I love that quilt. And the idea was great! Is there a pattern for the center?

29 12 2014
kay

Good morning warm damp Georgia where we’ve had inches of rain since Christmas Eve, yes… we don’t have to shovel it. I like the idea of the Bible Study quilts… what a wonderful way to get folks involved in the “thought” process and make them vested in the finished product. Very nice.

Oh, just wanted you to know that my 100 block magazine came Saturday. I’ve been look at it a few blocks at a time. It’s another wonderful resource. So happy that you drew my name during the blog hop…

Have a grand week

Kay

Leave a Reply

