“Trip to the Farm” Published!

30 12 2014

I am so excited! My “Trip to the Farm” baby quilt has been published in the Feb./Mar. 2015 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts! If you are not yet a subscriber or your fabric shop doesn’t carry the magazine, click the icon below. You can see the projects included in the issue, and you’ll be linked to the McCall’s online shop; you can order the magazine directly from McCall’s.

McCalls QQ Cover Full Feb Mar 2015

This big-patch quilt was super fast and super fun to make. It’s 49 1/2″ square, the perfect size for “tummy time” or for decorating the nursery. I hope you’ll give it a try.

Trip-to-the-Farm-FLAT-600px

I purchased most of the fabric at my local quilt shop, Loving Stitches in Fayetteville, NC. The farm theme print and the coordinating green print with flowers and little chickens tempted me beyond resistance! Click on the picture to see the background fabric . . . a chicken wire print.

The quilt pattern is versatile, not just for baby quilts. I made a wall hanging as a wedding gift that turned out very nicely. Read more about this project here.

IMG_3340

As a design variation, you can rotate the half square triangles to achieve a star design.

IMG_3336

Please let me know if you make “Trip to the Farm.” I would love to share a picture of your quilt with blog readers.

McCall’s sent me two complimentary copies of the magazine. If you would like to be in the January 6th drawing for a free magazine, leave a comment below.

Actions

Information

23 responses

30 12 2014
dwlcmyers

I just received my issue in the mail a couple of days ago. I wondered if you had anything in it. I haven’t had time to look at it yet. Now I am excited to read it.

30 12 2014
Mary Ed Williams

Happy New Year, Aby,
I love this pattern! Can we possibly use it to make baby quilts for the local hospitals? I will get a copy of the magazine as soon as I can.

(Thought I was losing it when I kept seeing white specs floating by on the screen!)

30 12 2014
Diane O

What a really cute pattern. It looks like it would be very quick to make as a quilt or wall hanging. Thanks.

30 12 2014
Diane

Very effective block. Can see many of my fabrics in my stash working for that quilt.

30 12 2014
Jen Johnston

Congratulations on another published work Aby!

30 12 2014
Ellie Paquette

Love the colors in the “chicken” block—very effective. Will try a big block
soon. One and done would be great.

30 12 2014
Diane Bidgood

Love it, I like the big block idea for a baby quilt.

30 12 2014
Janet T

Love your block! Great quilt for baby.

30 12 2014
Debbie@ShelteredStitches

Congrats and woohoo! I cant decide which one I like better, but I know I’m putting that magazine on my list!

30 12 2014
Diane

I really like the “Trip to the Farm”. Reminds me of our home. Great baby quilt and wall hanging. Congrats! Diane

30 12 2014
Carolyn Henderson

I love this pattern…would love to win a magazine and try…

30 12 2014
LINDA

HI, cute “Trip to the Farm! Thanks for sharing!

30 12 2014
cakunkel

Do you know when it is to hit the shelves? 

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

30 12 2014
Marilyn Logan

I love this pattern for its versatility and the many different ways the blocks can be rotated for different looks.

30 12 2014
Blue.Ridge.Girl {Shadows of the Blue Ridge}

This is a great little quilt Aby! I love how you can rotate the half-square triangles for a completely different look :o) Several of these large blocks together would also make a great large quilt!

30 12 2014
Leticia Peterson

Congratulations! Published again. I really like both quilts. The contrast in styles really opens the door of endless possibilities.

30 12 2014
Pam S

What a great way to showcase a theme print! Your quilt is adorable!

30 12 2014
Pam reim

I like the variation you did very much. Great color combo.

31 12 2014
Jennifer

Striking design and so many possibilities with different color combinations!

31 12 2014
ehmerjudy

Aby, so happy for you that you have been published again. I really like this one, especially the wedding variation. If I win the magazine I won’t have to have somebody else send me one to Germany! The snowflakes are appropriate, we have had snow the last few days here after a snowless winter last year!

31 12 2014
Jodi Breese

I love this block and that you can change it. That’s such a wonderful idea! We got over a foot of snow in a few hours today. I thought I was seeing things at first and then realized I wasn’t. lol

2 01 2015
Kathleen Ahearn

Aby – thank you for sharing your success with friends…..spreads the joy. Which came first?…..the fabric or the pattern design?
It’s snowing in Metz too. Inside and out !
Best wishes for a healthy and safe 2015.

2 01 2015
Brenda E.

So cute and it looks very easy to do!

Leave a Reply

