Happy New Year! — Celebrate!

1 01 2015

 

Wishing you all a very happy and healthy new year . . . and a year replete with time for your favorite people and your favorite hobbies . . . like quilting.

Several of my friends are choosing words to live by in the coming year; that sounds like a great idea. But it’s a little difficult to come up with an all encompassing word to concentrate on. After a bit of thought, I arrived at “Celebrate;” a Bible verse to accompany the idea is Psalm 34: 3, “Come, let us tell of the Lord’s greatness; let us exalt his name together.”  

I’m anticipating many celebrations in the coming year — holidays as well as birthdays of family members and friends are cause for celebration, of course. In addition, I look forward to hubby’s retirement from the Army and the eventual completion of our retirement home. I am happy to celebrate the accomplishments of others, and I hope that several more of my quilt designs will enjoy publication.

Since I always do “the happy dance” when I use stash fabrics to complete a quilt, I’m combining my resolution to use fabrics on hand with my word for the year. Each month in 2015, I plan to celebrate a happy occasion by making a quilt. I’ll share my celebration creations with you!

“Celebrate Life!” is the name of my New Year’s quilt. You will find a link to the directions for this 42″ square quilt on the “Patterns” page of my blog.

DSCN6954

I began with an “orphan” block of “March to Spring,” my block design that was published in Quiltmaker’s 100 blocks, Vol. 9. Finding coordinating fabrics in my stash was not difficult. Working on this quilt New Year’s morning in my jammies was a lot of fun! I plan to share this “Celebrate Life!” quilt with a newborn in the NICU of our local hospital.

What are you celebrating in January? If you commemorate the occasion with a quilt, I’d love to see a picture of your project.

 

Actions

Information

One response

1 01 2015
kay

I’m celebrating having an abundance, I’m sorting and distributing it to friends that are younger and will it enjoy it long after I’m gone or at least not able to do it any more. Vintage knitting and crochet books, old printed materials and related sewing items…all finding new homes. Of course, I have a personal motivation as well, more room for fabric and other fibers (yarn, tatting thread etc)… Once I get the sorting and delivering done I can begin working on the UFO bins.
Life is wonderful… I see a year of charity quilting in my future.

Leave a Reply

